Welcome to Great America

I went to Paramount’s Great America amusement park yesterday with my girlfriend, her daughter and her friend.  After the Top Gun rollercoaster and the Raging Rapids rafting ride, Shannon and I decided to tackle a couple of the more challenging rides whilst the kids cooled off in the water park.  Invertigo was to be our finale – a heartstopping loop-and-twist forward and reverse screamer with your feet dangling in the air.

“See? This is America,” she told me.

“What, queuing?” I asked.

“No, going out to a theme park at the weekend and having a blast.”

After half an hour of waiting, we were next in line.  We watched as the cars hurtled past us three times before stopping to let the passengers off.  We waited.  And waited.  Then waited some more.  The passengers were stuck on the ride for ten minutes before the staff could free them.  The manager – in a barely intelligible announcement – told us that the ride was out of commission, and that the engineers couldn’t even give an estimate of when it would be back in action.

“Yeah,” I said.  “This is America right now: a broken promise.”

Comments are closed.

