British Ambassador’s Wartime Letter

The British Freedom of Information Act is a wonderful thing. I’d heard rumours about this letter for the last decade about a letter from Sir Archibald Clerk Kerr (H.M. Ambassador to Moscow) to his friend Lord Pembroke. Today I am pleased to bring a copy of the original to my loyal readership. Enjoy.

If you find the image a little difficult to read, the text is as follows:

My Dear Reggie,

In these dark days man tends to look for little shafts of light that spill from Heaven. My days are probably darker than yours, and I need, my God I do, all the light I can get. But I am a decent fellow, and I do not want to be mean and selfish about what little brightness is shed upon me from time to time. So I propose to share with you a tiny flash that has illuminated my sombre life and tell you that God has given me a new Turkish colleague whose card tells me that he is called Mustapha Kunt.

We all feel like that, Reggie, now and then, especially when Spring is upon us, but few of us would care to put it on our cards. It takes a Turk to do that.

Sir Archibald Clark Kerr
H.M. Ambassador

Sir Archibald Clark Kerr's letter
Sir Archibald Clark Kerr’s letter to Lord Pembroke

Oh, and I know it’s Wikipedia, but here’s how notorious both Sir Archibald and his letter are/were: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Archibald_Clark_Kerr,_1st_Baron_Inverchapel

One could, of course, make all sorts of comments about Turks, but this is a classy blog…

2 Responses to British Ambassador’s Wartime Letter

  1. coffee says:

    This website was… how do you say it? Relevant!! Finally I’ve found something which helped me.
    Thanks!

  2. Stephen Westgarth says:

    He was Australian born, as was his mother. His grandfather ( A NSW Premier, Sir John Robertson )who arrived in 1822 as a six year old was known for his colourful use of language !

